Wendra Hill

Playdate records (29.01.2021)

«Ungdomskilden» (the source of youth) is the second album of Wendra Hill, an improvisation collective started by the Oslo-based musicians Jo David Meyer Lysne and Joel Ring back in 2017. On this new release, they have teamed up with the distinctive Bergen-based drummer, Øyvind Hegg-Lunde.

The collective has found inspiration in textures of locked vinyl-grooves, shimmering transposed bass notes, and 80s electric drum pads for improvising around rhythmic structures. Forming a brutally beautiful improvised cacophony, and surprising and exciting song structures.

Making this record, Wendra Hill, fell in love with DIY lamination and got inspired to overcome their fear of snakes. The rhythmic patterns of a nightingale, tremolo raga-inspired cello, and child-like toy-synth phrases merge into a state and whole only this collective could have created.

Jo David Meyer Lysne (guitar, sampler, turntable, synth, pedal-steel) was born in Førde, but is now based in Oslo. His artistic discipline deals with visualization of sound, working with theatre, installation, and self-made instruments.

Joel Ring (electric bass, cello, sampler) was born in Växjö, Sweden. He is now based in Oslo, working with artists from a wide range of disciplines, and he has become a strong new voice on the scene. His inspiration is wide-spreading, ranging from noise to western classical music.

Øyvind Hegg-Lunde (drums, percussion, electronic drums) was born and raised in Lærdal and has a background in both rock, pop, jazz, and improvised music. He is one of Bergen's most exciting drummers, where he is active in amongst others Building Instrument, Erlend Apneseth Trio, Strings & Timpani, Electric Eye, and Jose Gonzales indie-band Junip.

Joel Ring - electric bass, effects, sampler, cello

Jo David Meyer Lysne - 12-string acosutic guitar, pedal steel, synth, sampler, turntable

Øyvind Hegg-Lunde - drums, percussion, electronic drums.


01. Tomt rom

02. Bergsjøstølen

03. Puffpuff

04. Hammer´n i Tokyo

05. Tøm lungene

06. Det vakre ved laminat

07. Ungdomskilden

08. Slanger og nattergaler

09. Historien om Brian

10. Kveldens blomstring

11. Mørk flyt

12. Fargen du ser nå

13. Slidelien

All music by Wendra Hill

Recorded in Oslo, January 2019

Mixed by Anders Bjelland at Broen Studio, December 2019

Mastered by Kassian Troyer at Dubplates & Mastering, Berlin

Cover photo by Joel Ring and Jo David Meyer Lysne

Cover design by Synne Amanda Salvesen